Shrewsbury School

Cricket: 1st XI win SSSAA Award

Wednesday 1 February 2012

Back L-R: Jack Bailey, James Aston, Jack Hudson-Williams, Rhuaudri Smith, Will Mason, Alistair Pollock
Front L-R: Andy Barnard (Master IC Cricket), Stephen Leach, Henry Lewis (Captain), Jamie Board, Mark Prescott, Charlie Farquhar

Shropshire Schools' Sports & Athletics Association (SSSAA) Awards Presentation

As a result of our team winning the HMC National T20 competition in September 2011, the 1st XI were invited to the John Beswick International Awards Presentation Evening on 31st January at the Council Chamber in the Shirehall.

This is the fourth time that Shrewsbury School have won the Team Award since its inception in 1988:
   2004 Shrewsbury School U15 XI - Winning the ECB Lord Taverners Trophy
   2008 Shrewsbury School 1st VIII - Winning the Princess Elizabeth Challenge Cup at Henley
   2010 Shrewsbury School U15 XI - Winning the ESCA National T20

2011 was an outstanding year for cricket, for both our 1st XI and U15 teams. Remarkably, last year's 1st XI squad contained only one U18 player, so our 2012 squad will start with 10 players who already have a year's experience at this level.  Two members played for the ECB U17 Development XI last summer, and two members played for Shrewsbury CC when they won the ECB National Club Championship.

back to top