Shrewsbury School

George Carver (S UVI) wins Shropshire U19 Squash Championships

Monday 18 March 2013

The 2013 Shropshire Junior Squash Championships took place at Shrewsbury School over the weekend of 16th/17th March, with over 130 competitors taking part from across the county.

Tom Edwards, Rob Cross and George Carver36 of our pupils entered the championships, and George Carver (S UVI) won the coveted Shropshire U19 title - watched by his parents and the Headmaster.

A number of other Severn Hill boys also excelled themselves in the competition: Rob Cross (UVI) won the U19 Plate, Tom Edwards (IV) won the U17 plate, and 15-year-old Anton Nelson (IV) got through to the semi-finals in both the U17 competition (against Moser's Tiger Vechamamontien (IV)), and the U19 competition.

Anton Nelson also won the Sportsmanship Award.

This was a tremendous end to a very successful season for Shrewsbury School squash, during which we have won matches against Cheltenham (for the first time in recent school history), Wrekin, Malvern and Bromsgrove, and our 1st V have lost only 3 of their matches:

Saturday 12th January 2013 Staff vs Top Squad LOST 8-2
Wednesday 16th January 2013 Concord College vs Top Squad (a)   LOST 4-1
Wednesday 23rd January 2013 at Bromsgrove   WON 3-2
Saturday 2nd February 2013 vs Cheltenham (home) 2pm 1st V WON 3-2 & 2nd V WON 5-0
Wednesday 20th February 2013 2nd V vs Repton 1st V (a)  LOST 5-0
Saturday 23rd February 2013 Shrewsbury Club Staff vs Staff & Top Squad (h) LOST 10-2
Saturday 2nd March 2013 vs Malvern (a)  Won 4-1
Sunday 3rd March 2013 vs Old Salopians (h)  Drew 1-1
Wednesday 6th March 2013 2nd V vs Wrekin (h)  Won 3-2

back to top