Shrewsbury School

MUN: 10 awards from the Royal Russell School Model United Nations

Thursday 3 November 2011

At the Royal Russell School MUN, which took place just before half term, our A team Germany just missed out on the top award, but won a HIGHLY COMMENDED DELEGATION award, and nine Salopians won DISTINGUISHED DELEGATE awards in their committees.

Whole team L-R: Monsieur Ithurbisque (DI), James Halliday, Mark Huang, Ben Gould, Imola Atkins, Theo Simmons, Xavier Greenwood, Toby Harvey-Scholes (horizontal), Emerald Storey, Guy Leslie, Harry Croft, Kiran Morjaria, Henry Dashwood, Will Shindell, Sam Ansloos, Jack Huntley, Tim Atkins, James Humpish, Ed Elcock, Daniel Edwards, Anna Olerinyova, Miss Burge (JMMB), Mr Peach (HRWP)

Our team of 23, consisting of 19 boys and 4 girls, attended the Royal Russell School MUN from 15th-18th October 2011. This is the longest-standing MUN in the country (30 years), that now involves 21 schools and 500 delegates.

Our A team Germany (pictured below) won a HIGHLY COMMENDED DELEGATION award, and nine Salopians won DISTINGUISHED DELEGATE awards in their committees:

Germany team L-R: Henry Dashwood, Xavier Greenwood, Will Shindell, Kiran Morjaria (ambassador), Alex Montgomery, Ralph Wade, Sam AnsloosSam Ansloos (L, G) - Germany
Imola Atkins (U, MSH) - Bangladesh
Henry Dashwood (5, SH) - Germany
Daniel Edwards (4, S) - Democratic Republic of Congo
James Halliday (L, G) - Israel
Ben Gould  (L, G) - Israel
Guy Leslie (U, R) - Sri Lanka
Kiran Morjaria (U, I) - Germany
Anna Olerinyova (L, MSH) - Bangladesh
Emerald Storey (U, MSH) - Sri Lanka

The MUN meetings here are growing in size, with at least 30 pupils attending each week, and we will be sending delegates to Paris in December, to Lady Eleanor Holles in February, and to both Stockport Grammar and Edinburgh in March.

back to top