Shrewsbury School

RSSH: The annual Old Salopian Hunt race vs RSSH and Staff

Friday 2 December 2011

In the annual fixture vs the Old Salopian Hunt, the RSSH were once again victorious, winning the event for the fourth year in the row.  However, it was a much more closely fought affair this year, with the Old Salopians selecting a much more youthful pack.  Principal amongst these were Oli Mott - former Tucks record holder and GB universities runner - who won the event three years ago.  However, this year Mott had to settle for second place, with History Master Ian Haworth pushing on in the latter stages to win the race in a time of 19.17.  In the end, current Hunstman George Mallett was close on the heels of 2003 Huntsman Mott, with only seven seconds separating them.  However, the most interesting battle of the day was between brothers Kris and Seb Blake, with Kris having left last year to read Natural Sciences at Oxford, and his younger brother Seb having joined the Sixth Form and the Hunt this year.  Whilst it was Blake the Younger in control in the early stages of the race, age proved the victor in this instance, with Kris establishing a 12 second gap in the end.  This was not the only Battle of the Brothers in the race, however, and Simon Jones gained some status for Youth by placing two points ahead of his older brother Toby.

In the team totals, the staff were a clear third, with a somewhat tired-looking 105 points.  In the main battle, a team total of 58 points for the Old Salopian Hunt represented the closest margin in recent years, just 11 points behind the RSSH.  As always, the result of the race was not the most important aspect of the day.  Rather, the welcoming back of previous generations of Hunt runners is always an inspiring occasion, and the boys and girls of the current crop of Hunt runners always look forward to the date and the many varied characters that return!

More photos are available on Flickr.

Match Result  
RSSH 47points
OSH 58 points
Staff 105 points
RSSH-Girls  2 runners 


Name Team Time
1 Ian Howarth Staff 19.17.2
2 Oli Mott OSH 19.39.5
3 George Mallett RSSH 19:46.2
4 Peter Middleton Staff 20:31.1
5 Kris Blake OSH 20.48.5
6 Seb Blake RSSH 21:00.6
7 Rory Fraser RSSH 21:16.4
8 Tom Cousins RSSH 21:20.6
9 Ed Hector OSH 22:11.2
10 Ben Hepplethwaite OSH 22:19.3
11 George Nugee RSSH 22:34.8
12 Will Spencer Jones RSSH 22:35.4
13 Simon Jones RSSH 22:57.0
14 Oscar Dickins RSSH 23:09.4
15 Toby Jones OSH 23:32.7
16 Tom Sykes RSSH 23:37.7
17 Adam Booth OSH 23:53.9
18 Henry Dashwood RSSH 24:05.2
19 Hilary Agate Guest 24:07.7
20 Dan Ithabisque Staff 24:37.4
21 Tim Foulger Staff 24:43.7
22 Tim Bedell OSH 25:37.9
23 Jamie Roberston RSSH 25:42.4
24 James Adney OSH 25:48.4
25 James Humpish RSSH 26:00.4
26 David Thomas OSH 26:33.8
27 Sam Watts RSSH 26:42.5
28 Greg Hayward Staff 26:49.2
29 Martin Chow RSSH 26:53.7
30 Anna Thompson RSSH GIRLS 28:18.5
31 Fenella Nicholas Staff 28:22.0
32 Dan Nicholas OSH 28:22.3
33 Peter Birch OSH 29:02.0
34 Becky Home RSSH GIRLS 30:46.8
35 Cliff Simpkin OSH 34:26.6
36 Richard Hudson OSH 38:40.0
back to top