Shrewsbury School

Salopian cricketers help Shrewsbury CC win the ECB National Club Championship

Sunday 18 September 2011

Captain Ed Foster with the trophyOn Saturday 17th September, just ten days after our 1st XI won the HMC T20 at Arundel, two of that team played for Shrewsbury Cricket Club in the ECB  National Club Final at Derbyshire County Cricket Ground.

In a pulsating final that went to the wire, Shrewsbury CC won by 3 wickets with 2 balls to spare. The winning team contained no fewer than six past or present Shrewsbury School players, including 3 previous 1st XI captains: Tom Cox (M 2006), Joe Leach (M 2009) and Alex Blofield (PH 2010) together with Michael Barnard (Rb 2009) Stephen Barnard (Rb 2011) and Stephen Leach (M UVI). And just for good measure, the team also boasted a Shrewsbury School 6th form applicant for 2012 - Edward Barnard!

The winning Shrewsbury CC teamThe club and school have retained a close link over the past century, and the success on Saturday comes some 28 years after the club previously won the National Club Championship in 1983.

Cambridge Granta CC:  220 for 8 ( 45 overs)

Shrewsbury CC:  224 for 7  (44.4 overs)

Shrewsbury CC  won by 3 wickets  and a longer report can be found on the ECB website and the Shropshire Star website.

back to top