Shrewsbury School

School Firsts

Thursday 28 March 2019

School Firsts are one of the highest honours at Shrewsbury, rewarding pupils who have demonstrated exceptional contributions to School life. They are awarded each term by a committee of Upper Sixth Formers.

The committee members take their work seriously, for two main reasons: firstly, this is a good example of pupil power – while teachers may make nominations, it is only those ten or so Upper Sixth pupils sitting on the committee who have the power to vote; secondly, to retain the value of the ‘School First’, precious few are handed out.

Nowadays School Firsts have been split into two types: sporting and non-sporting. Below is a list of those pupils who  were given the coveted award during the final School Assembly of the Michaelmas Term for their exceptional contributions to School life in non-sporting activities:

For his exceptional contributions to the extra-curricular academic life of the School:
Otto Rothwell Hurley

For their exceptional commitment to, leadership of and success in MUN (Model United Nations):
Chad Usher, Koby Ferdinand-Okpala and Ebrahim Jamshid

For their outstanding service and commitment to the Royal Marines Section of the CCF:
Harry Remnant, Freddy Williams, Emma Graham and Tom Plaut

For their exceptional contributions to school Drama and Musical Theatre:
Ben Lloyd and Dominic Sullivan

For their exceptional contributions to the musical life of the School:
Reuben Denison and Rory Leslie

For their outstanding service to the Army Section of the CCF:
Arthur Gell and Tim Lovick

For his exceptional contributions to school life across a wide variety of fields:
Freddy Williams

back to top