Shrewsbury School

School Firsts

Thursday 19 April 2018

Each term a committee of Sixth Form pupils meets to award the School’s highest form of ‘colours’ – a ‘School First’.

The committee members take their work seriously, for two main reasons: firstly, this is a good example of pupil power – while teachers may make nominations, it is only those ten or so Upper Sixth pupils sitting on the committee who have the power to vote; secondly, to retain the value of the ‘School First’, precious few are handed out.

Nowadays School Firsts have been split into two types: sporting and non-sporting. Below is a list of those pupils who  were given the coveted award during the final School Assembly of the Lent Term for their exceptional contributions to School life in non-sporting activities.

For their exceptional contributions to the academic life of the School:
Jenn Westerman and Nifemi Runsewe. 

For their exceptional commitment to, leadership of and success in MUN (Model United Nations):
Oliver Bureau and Mill Luangamornlert

For their outstanding service and commitment to the CCF:
Max Craik, Harry Wasdell, Bryce Rutter, Tom Brennan and Chad Usher

For their richly varied and outstanding contributions to school life:
Sam Bayliss and Felix Mason-Hornby

For their exceptional contributions to school Drama:
Jessie Inglis-Jones and Eve Hartley 

For their unstinting and exceptional contributions to the musical life of the School:
Harry Lawrence and Matthew Poon

For his exceptional commitment to and management of school Beagling:
Ollie Hall

For her outstanding achievements and leadership in Shooting:
Hattie Bramwell

back to top