Shrewsbury School

Shrewsbury’s Model United Nations team win top awards at Manchester Conference

Thursday 26 June 2014

Shrewsbury's Model United Nations representatives rounded off a very successful year with a Distinguished Delegation award at the Manchester Grammar School MUN Conference during the last weekend of term. Three members of the team also won individual Highly Commended Delegate awards and a further three won Commended Delegate awards.

There was, as usual, a very strong field of about 200 delegates from many of the top schools across the country.  Also taking part in the Conference was a school from Prague, who have invited Shrewsbury to an MUN conference there in January.

All of the Shrewsbury delegates performed extremely well. One particularly impressive achievement was that of Third Former Chetan Popat (PH), who at his first ever MUN conference managed to get a resolution on deep sea exploration and research passed in his committee.

Individual awards went to the following:

Highly Commended Delegates:
Dan Edwards (Security Council)
Esmé O'Keeffe (Economic and Social Council)
Theo Simmons (Educational and Scientific Committee)

Commended Delegates:
Akaash Patel (Health Committee)
Ed Plaut (Environment Committee)
James Ollerhead (Social, Cultural and Humanitarian Committee)

back to top