Shrewsbury School

Shrewsbury MUN team win 3 Delegation Awards

Friday 2 February 2018

Shrewsbury School's Model United Nations delegates returned from the Manchester High School for Girls MUN Conference (27th - 28th January) with a very impressive haul of awards.

Both our Chinese Delegation and our Israeli Delegation won Commended Delegation Awards.

Our Chinese Delegation also won the award for Best Delegation in General Assembly.

In addition the following picked up individual awards in their committees:

Ebrahim Jamshid (SH LVI) won the top award in his committee: Outstanding Delegate.

Henry Mayhew (Ch UVI), Chad Usher (S LVI) and Abi Watkinson (G LVI) won Highly Commended Delegate Awards.

Ferdinand Neuling (R UVI), Tom Hughes (Ch UVI) and Joe Shaw (R LVI) won Commended Delegate Awards.

Oliver Bureau (Ch UVI) got a Special Mention in the Security Council.

"This was a very successful weekend by any standards," said Mr Peach, Teacher in Charge of MUN, "but particular praise must go to Abi Watkinson and Joe Shaw, for whom this was their first MUN. And thank you to Mrs Drew who helped me accompany the trip."

The teams were:

Security Council – Oliver Bureau (Ambassador)
Human Rights Council – Mill Luangamornlert   
Economic and Social Committee – Koby Ferdinand-Okpala
Political Committee – Niamh Nugent
Science and Technology Committee – Ebrahim Jamshid
Technological Warfare – Chad Usher
Human Rights Committee – Henry Mayhew
Economic and Social Committee – Ferdinand Neuling 
Political Committee – Will Manley
Science and Technology Committee – Abi Watkinson
Human Rights – Joe Shaw
Technological Warfare – Tom Hughes (Ambassador)
Health Committee – Mary Yang
Human Rights Committee – Cici Zhang (Ambassador)

back to top