Shrewsbury School

MUN: Best Delegation Award

Thursday 9 February 2012

Shrewsbury School’s Democratic Republic of Congo team voted Best Delegation at LEHMUN - February 3rd-5th 2012.

This is the second time that our MUN-ers have been to this small, very well-organised MUN conference at Lady Eleanor Holles in Hampton, London, mainly involving schools from the southeast such as City of London School, Royal Russell, Hampton, Wimbledon High and Wycombe Abbey.

Accompanied by HRWP and Harvard Fellow, Nils Sceery, 13 Shrewsbury boys and girls took part, representing France, South Korea and the Democratic Republic of Congo.  The standard of debate was high and the Salopians – as ever – were in the thick of it.

Shrewsbury School's Democratic Republic of Congo team won the Outstanding Delegation Award, just ahead of Malvern St James, who were representing Iran.

Ed ElcockEd Elcock, our DRC ambassador, also won a Highly Commended Delegate award in his committee and his opening speech – a poem – was voted ‘Most Entertaining Speech’ by the MUN press team.

Moving around the committees, it was clear to me that every single member of the team was getting involved and making things fizz.

We are all very much looking forward to raising our performance at the George Watson’s MUN in Edinburgh and the Stockport Grammar MUN (March 23-25th), when a total of 28 Salopian debaters will be representing the school.

Ed Elcock (Ambassador): Economic and Social
Angus Thompson : Human Rights
Daniel Edwards: Political
Theo Simmons: Ecology and Environment
Jack Flowers (Ambassador): Human Rights
Kiran Morjaria: Political
Will Shindell: Ecology and Environment
Emerald Storey: Security Council
Xavier Greenwood: Economic and Social
Cecily Higham: Human Rights
Anna Olerinyova: Ecology and Environment
Henry Dashwood: Political
Jack Huntley (Ambassador): Economic and Social

Huw Peach

back to top