Shrewsbury School

Academic Lectures & Events

Throughout the Michaelmas and Lent terms the School organises a range of lectures on a diverse range of subjects. Members of the public are welcome to attend and there is no charge for admission.

These lectures are listed below, together with other academic events on our Calendar.

Monday 23 April 2018

  •  
    9:00
    Art: Fifth Form GCSE Art Exam (ends 1pm) (Art School)
  •  
    9:00
    Physical Education: GCSE Moderation (ends 2pm)
  •  
    18:30
    Physical Education: A Level Revision Session with Jackie Brookes (ends 9pm) (Science Lecture Theatre)
  •  
    19:00
    EPQ Showcase (ends 8.30pm) (Science Lecture Theatre)
  •  
    19:30
    Lecture: "Around the World in 80 Days" Mark Beaumont (Hodgson Hall)

Tuesday 24 April 2018

  •  
    All day
    Spanish: IGCSE Orals
  •  
    19:30
    Careers: Fourth Form Lecture: "Life as a Solicitor": Sallie-Anne O'Byrne, Director, Wace Morgan Solicitors (Science Lecture Theatre)

Wednesday 25 April 2018

  •  
    All day
    English: Sixth Form Trip: "The Duchess of Malfi" at The Swan, Stratford (depart 7.45am, return 8pm)
  •  
    8:30
    Physics: Fifth and Sixth Form Trip to Jaguar Land Rover (depart Alington Hall 8.30am, return 1pm)
  •  
    12:35
    Careers: Upper Sixth Assembly "UCAS and applying post A Level": Mrs Nightingale and Mr Percival (Ashton Theatre)

Thursday 26 April 2018

  •  
    All day
    French: Pre-U Upper Sixth Principal Course Orals
  •  
    9:00
    Art: Fifth Form GCSE Art Exam (ends 1pm) (Art School)
  •  
    19:30
    English: RSC Schools Broadcast of Macbeth (Hodgson Hall)

Friday 27 April 2018

  •  
    13:00
    Academic Policy Committee Preliminary Meeting (M8)

Saturday 28 April 2018

  •  
    9:00
    Art: Fifth Form GCSE Art Exam (ends 11am) (Art School)

Tuesday 1 May 2018

  •  
    9:00
    A2 Art Exam (ends 1pm) (Art School)
  •  
    19:30
    Careers: Fourth Form Event with Mrs Nightingale (Science Lecture Theatre)

Wednesday 2 May 2018

  •  
    All day
    German: AS and A2 Orals
  •  
    9:30
    Chinese: IGCSE Mandarin Orals
  •  
    12:35
    Careers: Lower Sixth Assembly "Employability, Personal Branding and Careers Resources": Mrs Nightingale and Mr Middleton (Ashton Theatre)
  •  
    13:45
    Chinese: IGCSE Cantonese Orals

Thursday 3 May 2018

  •  
    All day
    Russian: GCSE, AS and A2 Orals
  •  
    9:00
    A2 Art Exam (ends 1pm) (Art School)
  •  
    14:00
    Careers: Visit of Armed Forces School Liaison Officers (Careers Library)
  •  
    14:15
    Chemistry: Prep School Enrichment Afternoon 1 (ends 4.00pm) (Science Lecture Theatre)

Friday 4 May 2018

  •  
    All day
    Russian: GCSE Orals
  •  
    All day
    Russian: AS and A2 Orals
  •  
    14:00
    Chinese: AS Orals

Saturday 5 May 2018

  •  
    7:00
    SAT Tests (end 1.00pm) (Alington Hall)
  •  
    9:00
    Art: A2 Exam (ends 1pm) (Art School)

Tuesday 8 May 2018

  •  
    All day
    13+ Scholarship Entrance Examinations begin (end Thursday 10th May)
  •  
    All day
    Physics: Third Form Olympics 2018 at King's School, Chester (depart Kingsland Hall 8.30am, return 5pm)
  •  
    All day
    Geography: IGCSE Fieldwork: Coasts, Wales (Fourth Form) (depart 9am, return 5pm)
  •  
    14:00
    Art: A2 Art Exam (ends 6pm) (Art School)
  •  
    19:30
    Careers: Fourth Form Event with Mrs Nightingale (Science Lecture Theatre)

Thursday 10 May 2018

  •  
    18:45
    Mathematics: David Harrison Prize (Science Lecture Theatre)

Friday 11 May 2018

  •  
    19:00
    Junior Essay Prize (Alington Hall)

Sunday 13 May 2018

  •  
    All day
    Art: Lower Sixth Study Visit to the Ashmolean Museum, Oxford (depart Alington Hall 8.30am)

Monday 14 May 2018

  •  
    9:00
    Physical Education: A Level Moderation (ends 11am)

Tuesday 15 May 2018

  •  
    19:30
    Careers: Fourth Form Event with Mrs Nightingale (Science Lecture Theatre)

Wednesday 16 May 2018

  •  
    12:35
    Careers: Lower Sixth Assembly: "How to Write a Personal Statement": Mrs Nightingale (Ashton Theatre)

Thursday 17 May 2018

  •  
    14:15
    Chemistry: Prep School Enrichment Afternoon 2 (ends 4.00pm) (Science Lecture Theatre)
  •  
    19:30
    Watersheds Lecture: "The Sinking and Rescue of the Children of the 'City of Benares'": Blake Simms (OS) (Hodgson Hall)

Saturday 19 May 2018

  •  
    18:45
    History of Art: "Rembrandt: Bohemian or Businessman?": Jane Choy-Thurlow, at Prestfelde School (depart 6.45pm)

Wednesday 23 May 2018

  •  
    12:35
    Careers: Lower Sixth Assembly: "Open Day and Gap Year": Mr Percival (Ashton Theatre)

Monday 4 June 2018

  •  
    All day
    Third and Fourth Form Examinations (end Friday 8th June)

Tuesday 5 June 2018

  •  
    All day
    Shrewsbury Academic Forum meeting for Prep School teachers of Geography and Physical Education (Quod and Hodgson Hall)
  •  
    All day
    Common Entrance Examinations (end Friday 8th June)

Thursday 7 June 2018

  •  
    13:00
    Geography: Pre-U Residential Study Trip to Field Studies Council Blencathra, Cumbria (dep Alington Hall 1pm, return 10th June at 9pm)
  •  
    19:30
    Sixth Form Lecture with Dame Clara Furse (Hodgson Hall)

Sunday 10 June 2018

  •  
    All day
    Art: Lower Sixth Photography Trip to Tate Modern, London (depart Kingsland Hall 7am, return 9pm)
  •  
    11:30
    Art: Scholars' Plein Air Drawing and Painting Trip to Chirk Castle (depart 11.30am, return 4pm)

Monday 11 June 2018

  •  
    All day
    Lower Sixth Internal School Examinations (end Friday 15th June)

Friday 15 June 2018

  •  
    All day
    Physical Education: Lower Sixth Academic Experience Day at St. George's Park (depart KH at 8am, return 6pm)
  •  
    19:30
    Design & Technology Lecture: "Yacht Design": Jonny Horsfield (O.S.) (Hodgson Hall)

Saturday 16 June 2018

  •  
    11:30
    Astronomy: GCSE visit to the National Space Centre and Royal Observatory Greenwich (return 17th June at 8pm)

Monday 18 June 2018

  •  
    All day
    Rugby Group Meeting for Deputy Heads Academic (Kingsland House)
  •  
    All day
    Spanish: Exchange Visit of Colegio San Bartolomé (ends Sunday 24th June)
  •  
    All day
    Fifth Form Post-GCSE courses begin
  •  
    9:00
    Chemistry: Lower Sixth Cambridge Challenge Competition (ends 1pm) (Science Lecture Theatre)
  •  
    18:00
    Heads of Faculties' Meeting (Hodgson Hall)

Tuesday 19 June 2018

  •  
    11:35
    Challenge of Management: Lower Sixth Briefing (Ashton Theatre)

Wednesday 20 June 2018

  •  
    All day
    Careers: Lower Sixth Event: "Aim Higher: All things UCAS" (see separate notice)

Thursday 21 June 2018

  •  
    14:00
    Careers: American Universities Information Conference (Maidment Building)

Friday 22 June 2018

  •  
    All day
    Challenge of Management: Lower Sixth Conference
  •  
    13:00
    Academic Policy Committee Ratification Meeting (M8)
  •  
    19:00
    Challenge of Management Dinner (Kingsland Hall)

Saturday 23 June 2018

  •  
    All day
    UKCAT Training Day with Medic Portal (Darwin Building)

Wednesday 27 June 2018

  •  
    10:30
    Classical Society: Third Form Talk: "Life as a Legionary Soldier" Ben Kane, Author & Roman Historical Re-enactor (Science Lecture Theatre)
back to top